so far so good!

Dear family and friends!

Some of you might know, some of you have heard and some of you might not know at all yet :

7 weeks ago I was diagnosed with breast cancer HER-2 and lesions in my liver (Metastasen in der Leber)!

Obviously I was hoping to face different challenges when I moved to South Africa in December last year, whilst starting my life together with Alwyn.

The past weeks have been the most challenging, disappointing, moving, loving, caring and hopeful in my life. Simply beyond words!

End of January I had discovered a little lump in my left breast while I was putting on my bikini before jumping into our pool. I wasn’t too worried about it, put still felt it ten days later and we decided to go to the docter. He was sceptical and after several tests, we found out it was malignant (bösartig) and aggressive.

Mum got onto the next plane and ever since she has arrived we had more than 15 appointments at several doctors . We also consulated oncologists in Germany, but quickly found out that South Africa is working with the most advanced cancer technology, and I did not want to interupt my start here and accepted the new tasks which are laying a head of me. Needless to say I stoped my job hunting, which was going quite well at at that stage. My oncologist Dr. Rieka Pienaar told me I should focus on my health first, and then on everything else. You can imagine how difficult it is for me to step down, try to relax and take some peace and quiet on my own.

In the meantime I was receiving phonecalls, sms, letters, packages, mails, flowers… you name it.. from all over the world. And I would like to thank each and everyone of you for all the kind and supportive words. Every single one of them gave me a boost of energy to fight this fight against these bad boys I am carrying inside of me. I am overwhelmed with all the support I am getting from near and far!

The docotors decided to give me chemotherapy first to kill the cells. My cancer is too advanced and I do not have a clean tissue (Gewebe), it would be dangerous to operate right now, otherwise it might spread. I am getting the chemo as well as herceptin, a kind of “bioglogical treatment”. It helps the body to build antibodies against the cancer I am carrying. It is quite a new treatment and I am on a trial. I have had my first session on Thursday 24th March and I have to go in weekly for about 3-4hrs on a drip. I had a small operation to get a port (Kateter) inserted just below my collarbone. It avoids getting these nasty broozes and it doesnt’t strain your veins that much. The drip goes through the port into my main vain. So far so good, I do feel really good. I haven’t had any side effects at all. I do not feel nausea,  no diarrohea, nor have I lost my hair. Thanks to the herceptin I will most probably not loose my hair. I do feel quite tired and exhausted though and take an afternoon nap, but that is it. Isnt’t that incredible?

My doctor told me last week, that I am out of the cancer harbour  now, and set my sails for the journey that lays ahead of me. I just have to take care of my spirit and mind, the rest they will do. And believe me I will do so.

Sadly my wonderful Mum has left yesterday and I would like to thank her especially for her unfailing care and support these last weeks.  A Mum is a Mum, no one ever can replace her! There is just nothing more comforting like a mother’s hug!

I will keep you all updated on this blog and let you know about my progress. I am ready to fight the bad boys and will remain optimistic and positive, cause I am a Harder!

Love,

Helen

This entry was posted in 1st month. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to so far so good!

  1. Iris Knellwirt says:

    Du bist die tollste, stärkste und wundervollste Cousine, die eine Kuhsine sich wünschen kann.
    Liebe Heli, wir sitzen dir im Nacken und denken jeden Tag rund 5000 mal die bad boys weg. Jeder von uns. Sollte es sowas die Übersinnliches geben, dann bist du den Kratscher bald los.
    Ich liebe dich, du packst das. Dein Brief ist bewegend. Kristin

  2. Anja says:

    Liebe Heli, ich hatte ja keine Ahnung, aber wenn das eine schaffen kann dann bin ich mir sicher bist du das. Ich hoffe das du ganz schnell wieder gesund wirst. Ich denk ganz doll an dich. Anja

  3. Neubauer says:

    Salut Helen, ich umarme dich ganz doll und sende die Kraft, die dir helfen wird weiterhin stark zu sein…eine Rose für das Leben sende ich dir so schnell, wie möglich zu dir nach Afrika..bisous pour toi ma chere:-))

  4. Markus says:

    Hey Helen,

    las gerade Deinen post. Bin platt. Aber weil ich Dich kenne, mache ich mir weniger Sorgen … DU packst das. Wenn nicht Helen, wer dann?! Für den Augenblick wünsche ich Dir alles Gute und für danach das Beste in SA.

    Love from Kiel

  5. Papa says:

    Salut Ma Fillotte
    J’aurais préféré d’autres nouvelles !
    Mais Theharderthebetter sera plus forte que ce maudit crabe (Crebs)
    Casse-lui bien la gueule et donne lui une bonne baffe (gifle) de ma part !
    Nous t’aimons tous et tu nous manques souvent
    Maman et les enfants vont bien
    Lolo va faire une formation de fleuriste et est avec un copain plus vieux que Papa !
    Célia fait du chocolat et est amoureuse d’un aviateur.
    Flo continue ses études et cherche son avenir.
    Énorme bisous de tous
    Papa

  6. Lydia says:

    Mein geliebter Keks,

    was muss ich lesen, wir haben sooooo lange nicht mehr gekekst! Aber sei ganz gewiss, ich denke an Dich und schick Dir Mut & Power. Ich bin stolz auf Dich und weiss, Du bist einer der tapfersten Cookies die es gibt.

    Sei gedrückt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Keks

  7. Philip Tarry says:

    May I be the first to wish you all the best in english! 🙂 Its great to hear you have things so together, both mentally and physically, and i know you will beat this.. NO PROBLEM!! 🙂 I look forward to visiting you in SA sometime in the future, once i have settled in at keswick and have saved some pennies! 🙂
    Take care cous and all our love from me and the computer illiterate parents 😉 X

  8. Helen (Auntie) Mike (Uncle) says:

    My dear Helen,
    My Chiropractioner and very good friend also had a cancer similar to yours, and she learnt to embrace her illness and concentrated on wellness with total belief that she will get through all the treatment. She is now fully recovered and back in America with a brand new practice.

    You have superb courage which will give you the determination and strength to cope with difficult days. As you’ve already seen the huge wave of love sent from your family and friends letting you know we are all thinking of you.

    Much love
    Mike & Helen xx

  9. Doro says:

    Liebe Helen,
    ganz viele Hel´s(health)engels von Doro, Alex, Sophia, Sarah und Kilian

  10. nano chagué says:

    Hello ma Belle,
    Alain”papa” m’a transmis les nouvelles…Bof, pas terrible tout çà ; je suis sûre que tu vas t’en sortir, si tu gardes un bon mental. tu es une fille solide et nous serons là pour t’y aider avec tous nos encouragements et notre amour ; n’hésites pas à nous envoyer des nouvelles et nous appeler au secours si tu n’es pas bien ; nous serons là pour te changer les idées en te parlant de cette vieille France et de notre petit coin de paradis à Mouthier ; je vais dire à “papa” de t’envoyer des photos du jardin ; tu verras, il a bien changé…moi je suis nulle en informatique, les mails et encore !!! tes frères et soeurs seront ravis de te donner de bonnes news pour que tu gardes le sourire
    as-tu des nouvelles de Nicole ? je t’embrasse tendrement
    “maman” de France hi,hi,hi!!! Nano

  11. Julia & Karl says:

    Liebste Helen,
    gerade gestern haben wir noch darueber geredet, dass wir Euch zum Worldcup sehen! Wir denken an Dich und umarmen Dich. Es gibt immer einen Platz fuer Dich auf der Farm.
    Alles, alles Gute und ganz viele Kuesschen (vielleicht lieber nicht von Karl…), Deine Julie & Karl

  12. Meine allerliebste Helena!
    Verdammt ich fall ja fast vom Stuhl grade! …seh so ganz harmlos diese website-Adresse auf Deinem skype-Account, klick mich mal so weiter, um zu gucken, was Du so treibst …. himmelherrgottsackra……müsste ich als alter Bayer sagen!
    Aber nur die wenigsten Menschen glauben ja, dass die Welt bzw das Schicksal etwas mit Gerechtigkeit oder so zu tun hat …und das ist wohl auch so …kann gar nicht anders sein!
    Ich wünsche Dir alle Kraft die Du jetzt brauchst, drücke mehr Daumen als ich habe und wünsche Dir alles Gute. Schliesse mich einigen Vorrednern an, die in Kenntnis Deiner Person glauben, dass gerade DU ! die nötige Power haben wirst.
    Auch ICH gehe genau davon aus und freue mich jetzt schon auf die guten Nachrichten, die Du bald streuen wirst!!!
    Fühle Dich ganz doll umarmt …ich denk an Dich …und das bleibt erstmal so!

    Bis bald, meine Große …..halt Dich wacker. Ich bleib dran!

    Jochen

  13. Lori & Kosie says:

    Ons is bitter baie lief vir jou Helen! So trots op jou hoe positief jy bly, en weet jy dat jy geseen is en 100% gaan recover, don’t ever forget that. Ons is hier al die pad saam met jou en bid vir jouM met sulke ongelooflike liefde en ondersteuning wat jy elke dag kry van Alwyn, jou ouers en damilie en al jou vriende wat jou so verskriklik liefhet en support, is jy op die road tot recovery in no time. One day at a time, but never lose site of what you are fighting for. Lief jou en dink en verlang elke dag aan jou. Love you!! Xxx

  14. betti says:

    liebste helen, schwesterchen!

    ich drueck dich gaaaanz fest!

    bin gedanklich bei dir und schick dir ganz gaaaanz viel positive energie!!

    lots of love from new york,

    deine (kleine schwester) betti

  15. Jane and Hypo Hutch says:

    Dearest Helen – we have been tracking all your news for weeks and discovered your Blog on mum’s return to UK. Sounds like you are getting the best possible treatment and that you are in best state of mind to address your challenge. You are being immensely brave and courageous. It seems like no time since we saw you at GR and so much has happened since. We hear that you have a lovely new puppy! Cheering daily for you here. LOL Janey + Hypo XXX

  16. Matze says:

    Hallo hartes Harderchen,

    wie Du schon angedeutest hast manche wussten wenig und glaub mir einige wussten NICHTS. Ich gehörte zur zweiten Kategorie.
    Ich weiss noch nicht mal wer Alwyn ist, war zwar immer mal wieder auf deiner Facebook Seite aber in letzter Zeit ist der Kontakt ja ein bischen eingerostet!!
    Um ehrlich zu sein dachte ich Alwyn wäre der süße Hund mit dem Du auf einem der Fotos auf dem Boden geschlafen hast!. Sorry for that.

    War sehr traurig als ich gelesen hab wie es Dir in den letzten Monaten gegangen ist und was Du alles durchmachst. Hab gedacht ich öffne Deinen Blog und mir schlagen sexy Bilder der gebräunten Helen entgegen die mit coolen drinks in der Hand auf Segelschiffen in den Sonnenuntergang fährt.
    Gott sei dank weiß ich aber das Du ganz schön tough bist und dem Leben wenn es Dir so kommt auch mal die Krallen zeigen kannst. Ich schick Dir ganz arg viel liebe Grüße aus dem Schwabenländle und hoffe, dass Du dich auf keinen Fall unterkriegen läßt und den Rest des Weges zurück zu einem normalen- Krebsfreien- Leben mit Siebenmeilenstiefeln zurück legst.

    Mega riesen dicker Knutscher.
    P.S Schick mir mal Deine Post Adresse, dass ich Dir auch ein Paketchen schicken kann.

    Matze

  17. Jane and Hypo Hutch says:

    Dearest Helen, we are both thrilled to hear (from your Mum in last 24 hours) of your progress which was revealed in the last 2 days. Another 3 bottles of Sancerre might also help!?!

    Much more seriously, we continue to track your progress most closely, and pray for another chapter of positive news.

    Deep love and concern from Hypo + Janey XXX

  18. Jane and Hypo Hutch says:

    Dearest Helen,

    Today we have just heard of your seriously good news from last Thursday. Remarkable and wonderful! We can hardly describe how pleased and relieved we are, following such an incredibly anxious time for you and your multi-continental family. With your inner strength we are confident that you will master whatever challenges remain. Still thinking of you very regularly. Much love Janey and Hypo Hutch XXX

Leave a Reply

